Death and the Rest of My Life

I was with a family today that lost a loved one.  As a matter of fact, I was in the room when the final pronouncement was made.  This isn’t the first time that I have been up close and personal with death.  However, I had never experienced death in this way until I became a pastor.  Sure I had been to funerals, even had family members of my own die.  But until I was a pastor I had never been there when the moment actually came, I had never seen the process taking place.  I’ll admit, it’s kind of a weird feeling when it happens.  I can’t really explain my gut reaction.  While on the one hand I feel grief for the family at their loss, I am also in shock I what I am witnessing…someone taking a last breath, one last sound, one last hug, all accompanied by a flood of tears at being in the person’s presence one last time.  One last time…that’s it…it’s over…life on earth is done.

  I am always reminded of Moses prayer in Psalm 90, “So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom” (verse 12).   To number my days…to consider that life is short…this could be my last day…could be my last moment…get a heart of wisdom…don’t waste my days…do things that matter…don’t be lazy…invest in people…invest in eternal matters…

Oh God, help me, I often waste my days.  Please give me wisdom to know how to spend my time.  May I not fall short in being a faithful father and husband and pastor.  May I not get caught up in trivial pursuits.  Give me energy and zeal to push hard today, because this could be it.  May I love you more.  May I love what you love.  Thank you for my hope in Jesus Christ, that lets me rest in knowing that if today is it, then that’s okay, because I will be with you and you will take care of those I leave behind. 

One Response to “Death and the Rest of My Life”

  1. Josh Bruffey Says:

    It is intense. I don’t know how people who have no faith make it through such moments. I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to see both of my parents off through the door of death. You never forget it.

    Hope all is well. Need to catch up sometime. Come to TEXAS for a vacation or something!

Leave a comment